2013 AIPO First Round Entry Problems Released

IOI2013 Logo

We are pleased to announce the release of the first round entry programming problems for AIPO 2013.


Solutions are to be submitted through this website after registering an account and will be accepted up until February 16th 2013

Languages that are permitted are: C, C++, Java, Python and Perl.

Scholarships available at University of Waterloo, Canada for IOI Medal Winners

University of Waterloo

Faculty of Mathematics at the Univeristy of Waterloo in Canada (faculty website - http://www.math.uwaterloo.ca/) is pleased to announce the new Mike & Ophelia Lazaridis Olympiad Scholarship that is available to students who were medal winners at the IMO or IOI (either gold, silver or bronze).

This is a "full costs" scholarship that the Faculty of Mathematics is pleased to offer. This scholarship is open to all students (domestic and international) and all interested, eligible students are encouraged to apply. The application form is available online at: http://math.uwaterloo.ca/math/future-undergraduates /funding-and-awards/entrance-scholarships The application deadline is February 11, 2013. The application form also applies to other Math Faculty Scholarships. Thus, if a qualified student is not successful with the Olympiad Scholarship they will automatically be considered for other scholarships.

The scholarship covers the following expenses for eight academic terms: full tuition, accommodations, a full meal plan, textbooks and also incidental fees. Eligible students need to apply to the Faculty of Mathematics and must meet the admissions requirements as well as the English language requirement (please visit: http://math.uwaterloo.ca/math/future-undergraduates/applying for more details). This will be an ongoing opportunity for qualified students for the next several years. In the first year the Faculty was very pleased to have 5 medal winners join our our Department. 

IOI 2012 Team Ireland Member wins CoderDojo Award

CoderDojo LogoAIPO 2012 Winner and IOI 2012 Team Ireland member, Maciej Goszczycki was the winner of CoderDojo's ‘Coolest Project’ Awards held for the first time at Intel’s massive microprocessor manufacturing facility in Leixlip, Co Kildare. Goszczycki won the award for creating his own software language he calls ODA.

Maciej based his new software language on a task from the 2012 IOI competition called Odometer where you had to extend the functionalities of a robot that measured distance.

Maciej said "It had only labels and you had to programme a robot to do certain things for you. So I thought it would be cool if this language really existed in real life rather than a competition.”

Maciej has submitted the software to social coding site GitHub and hopes to drum up some support from the young and emerging developer community for the language.

Full story is available on Silicon Republic.

Well done Maciej and see you at the AIPO 2013 competition.