Team Ireland for 28th International Olympiad in Informatics chosen at DCU

AIPO-IOI Team Ireland 2016

The cream of young irish programming talent rose to the top of the AIPO leaderboard after 3 days of intensive algorithmic coding challenges in DCU this week. Four young men are on their way to the trip of a lifetime to the Olympics of high school programming in Russia in August.

Eoin Davey (18yr) from Summerhill College, Sligo, Teofil Camarasu (18yr) from Dundalk Grammar School, Louth, John Ryan (17yr) from St. Joseph's College, Thules, Tipperary and Kieran Horgan (15yr) from Davis College, Mallow, Cork have been chosen to represent Ireland at the 28th International Olympiad Informatics in Kazan, Russia.

Pic L-R: Kieran Horgan, Teofil Camarasu, John Ryan, Eoin Davey

The International Olympiad in Informatics is the world’s main informatics competition for school-age students, and was first initiated by UNESCO in 1989. This year, team Ireland will compete as individual students against over 300 students from 82 different countries around the world at the Kazan Federal University in Russia.

Three perfect scores at the 2016 AIPO Nationals Finals

AIPO2016-Finals1There was much excitement in the foyer of the School of Computing last Saturday at the National Finals of the All-Ireland Programming Olympiad (AIPO) among parents and siblings of the school going competitors. With the atmosphere fuelled by numerous teas, coffees, Fidelity cupcakes and sweet cart jellies, spectators witnessed three perfect scores in the final minutes of the 5 hour Algorithmic Programming Olympiad.

Teofil Camarasu, Leaving Cert student from Dundalk Grammar School, amazingly posted a perfect score on all problems after just 2.5 hours of the 5 hour competition. A very strong performance from the IOI2015 Team Ireland member and bodes well for his chances of making Team Ireland again this year for IOI2016 in Russia.

The next to post a perfect score after 4 hours of the competition was the hardened competitor, John Ryan, Transition Year student from St. Joseph's College Tipperary. John won the Junior section of the AIPO 2014 and has been a regular prizewinner at the BT Young Scientist competition.

Finally, with just 15 minutes to go, Eoin Davey from Summerhill College Sligo, cracked the final problem and got his perfect 450 point score.

AIPO 2016 Finalists

Congratulations to all the students that succeeded in making it through to the Prelimary Round of AIPO 2016.

There were 54 students who attempted the Preliminary Round problems and 38 students who have made in through to the Finals, including 9 Jnr competitors.

The full list of our National Finalists are below. The competition will be begin at 11am and finish at 4pm.

Full details of the day of the Finals can be found here:

A live Scoreboard will be available on the day at this address:

There will be Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals for the best placed Junior and Senior students of the competition and a high spec laptop for the top student in each section, revealed on our Facebook page:
The top eight _Senior_ students from the competition will be invited to an AIPO-IOI training camp here on DCU campus from 27th June - 29th June. Accommodation (full board) will be provided. The top four students from this training will be invited to represent Ireland at the IOI Finals in Kazan, Russia (12th Aug - 19th Aug) with a cultural trip to Moscow beforehand.
Name Jnr/Snr School School Address
Eoin Davey Snr Summerhill College Sligo Summerhill College, College Road, Co.Sligo
Caolan Fleming Jnr St Mary's CBS Co: Laois Portlaoise St Mary's CBS
Teofil Camarasu Snr Dundalk Grammar School Dundalkk Grammar School, Dundalk, Louth
Gytis Daujotas Snr Marino College 14-20 Marino Mart, Fairview, Dublin 3
tadhg kearney Snr Hamilton High School Bandon, Co.Cork
Cian McDonnell Snr Crescent College Comprehensive S.J. Dooradoyle, County Limerick
Oisín O'Dwyer Snr Scoil Mhuire Agus Íde Scoil Mhuire Agus Íde, Bothar Buí, Newcastle West, Limerick
Chris Jensen Snr Ballymena Academy 89 Galgorm Rd, Ballymena BT42 1AJ
John Ryan Snr St Josephs College Borrisoleigh, Thurles, Co. Tipperary
David McMahon Snr Coláiste Choilm Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig, Cork
Colm Hickey Snr Gaelcholaiste Choilm Gaelcholaiste Choilm, Poulavone, Ballincollig, Co. Cork, Ireland
Joseph Greevy Jnr St Michael's College 1 Ailsbury Road
Chris Jensen Snr Ballymena Academy 89 Galgorm Road Ballymena BT42 1AJ
Adam Power Snr St. Aidans CBS Collins Ave, Whitehall, Dublin
John McKane Snr Ballymena Academy 89 Galgorm Road Ballymena
Darren Kitching Snr St. Aidans CBS St. Aidan's CBS, Collins Ave, Whitehall, Dublin
Ben McMahon Snr Coláiste Éanna Hillside Park, Ballyroan, Rathfarnham, Dublin 16
Andrew Nash Snr Colaiste Muire Realt na Mara Crosshaven, Co. Cork
Peter O'Donoghue Snr Clonakilty Community College Clonakilty
Emily Ray Snr St Angelas College St Patricks Hills, Cork City
Stephen Cushen Snr St Declans College St Declans College Nephin Road, Dublin7
Harvey Brezina Conniffe Jnr St. Davids Hazel Lodge
Conor Powell Snr Douglas Community School Douglas Community School, Clermont Avenue, Douglas, Cork, Ireland
Kevin Andrei Snr Marino College 14-20 Marino Mart Marino College Fairview Dublin 3
Pádraig Ryan Snr Ardscoil Rís Ardscoil Rís, North Circular Road, Limerick, V94 V602
Kieran Horgan Snr Davis College, Mallow, Co. Cork 2 Kilcanway,
Zac Reid Jnr Kishoge Community College Kishoge Community College, Ninth Lock Road, Lucan, Co. Dublin.
Shane Buckley Jnr St Mary's College 73-79 Lower Rathmines Road Dublin 6
Conor Holden Snr St. Francis College Rochestown, Co. Cork
Finbar Giusti Jnr Sandford Park SChool Ranelagh, Dublin 6
Han McKenna Jnr Rush and Lusk Educate Together NS Rathmore Road, Lusk, Co. Dublin
Desmond Doran Snr Christian Brothers College Cork Sidney Hill, Wellington Road, Cork
Oisin O'Halloran Snr St. Clements College South Circular Road, Limerick
Michael Condon Snr Colaiste an Chroi Naofa Carrignavar Sacred Heart College, Carrignavar, Co. Cork
Gearóid Burke Jnr St Patrick's Academy Islandeady, Castlebar, Co. Mayo, Ireland
Nebojsa Cvetkovic Snr The High School Zion Road, Dublin 6
Suneet Mahajan Jnr Douglas Community School Clermont Avenue, Douglas, Cork
Maciej Goszczycki Snr Colaiste Chroabh Abhann Kilcoole, Wicklow
Shane Connolly Snr CBS Mitchelstown Mitchelstown. Co, Cork